Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Intros and first game thoughts...

Great to be here...born and raised in and around Charm City. I've been attending Ravens games since 1999 and am anxious to get some thoughts read and heard on this site (as well as read some others' thoughts).

1st preseason game (pre-game thoughts) – general opening thoughts…
    It’s unbelievable that another Ravens season is upon us already – just in time for me to rid my brain of the lasting memories of that horrendous playoff game only seven months ago. Despite the final outcome of that game…the highlights of that day did include a friend of mine getting so upset during the game that he literally kicked the tv cord out of the wall in mid-game, causing an immediate panic among the viewers in the upstairs back room of a bar downtown. The other highlight, of course, was that it was also the day I purchased, for the 2nd time, my wedding rings. Of course, my fiancé almost killed/dumped/maimed me for scheduling the entire ring-shopping experience around the game…a timeline that included us NEEDING to be done shopping and back downtown at least 5 hours prior to game time. Marriage: it’s fantastic!

For a sport that consumes most of our colder autumn and winter months, it seems almost out of place to be getting psyched for a preseason game that will be played on a day that reached ninety two degrees outside in Charm City. Especially coming off a weekend in August when the O’s actually took two of three from the Red Sox at Fenway Park at Camden Yards. What? The O’s played a competitive August series against a decent team without steroid accusations or a manager getting canned? Did somebody say .500???