RVing to New Orleans to tailgate

Hi everyone,
    I am a newbie to this site but have been loving my Ravens since before 1996 when the idea of them was only a dream....

My family of 12 are attempting to RV to New Orleans to tailgate, as we cannot afford tix to the show...oh my gosh that's just crazy money.

I am a little perplexed as to figure out how to do this...we've done enough tailgating close to home but not this type of traveling. I was wondering if any other seasoned travelers have any tips/pointers for acquiring a location and I have many questions such as being able to use our geni to watch our TV...I can't imagine those lots have power hookup and I doubt they would allow generators to be run. Tailgating is the fun of course, but we don't wanna miss a second of the game and we can't even bare the thought of just listening to it on the radio.

Any tips/guidance/suggestions anyone has would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
    Deb :-)

Re: RVing to New Orleans to tailgate

I used to live in metro New Orleans and have been visiting many times every year since we moved away. I have driven there& back at least 20 times, maybe 30. The safest route in the winter is I-95, I-85 to the I-285 Atlanta Bypass ( go either way on the loop subject to traffic reports), I-85 again to Montgomery, I-65 to Mobile, and I-10 to New Orleans. The trip takes about 15-17 hours. The alternate, less traffic route would be via I-81 to I-40, then the Knoxville bypass, pick up I-75 to I-24 at Chatanooga, then I-59 all the way to Slidell and greater New Orleans - but watch the road conditions.

I would highly recommend that you not drive your RV into New Orleans for the game. There's another thread where a member mentioned $400 parking fee. I wouldn't be surprised to see an RV spot going for over $1,000 - and that would be if you can find one. There are very few surface level parking facilities near the Superdome. I used to tailgate with friends - I never recall seeing an RV.