Results 1 to 12 of 106
Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!
Just because you don't like the rule because you don't agree with it doesn't mean that what you are saying is correct.
Common sense says that if a guy is getting hit in the process of throwing the ball forward, IT IS IMPOSSIBLE...IMPOSSIBLE to assume he was throwing it to a particular spot. Why don't you go out in your back yard, get 2 of your neighbors with you. Have one stand 20 yards away and throw him the ball. Now have the second neighbor take a running start and hit you in your chest right as your arm starts to move forward and see how close you can get the ball you the guy standing 20 yards away. I bet you don't come close and some of the hits, you'd not be able to get the ball 5 yards.
Thanks to Haloti...I'll repost it in bold
Item 2: Physical Contact. Intentional grounding should not be called if:
(a) the passer initiates his passing motion toward an eligible receiver and then is significantly affected
by physical contact from a defensive player that causes the pass to land in an area that is not in the
direction and vicinity of an eligible receiver; or
(b) the passer is out of the pocket, and his passing motion is significantly affected by physical contact
from a defensive player that causes the ball to land short of the line of scrimmage.