Page 8 of 22 FirstFirst ... 45678910111218 ... LastLast
Results 106 to 120 of 325
  1. #106

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)



    Quote Originally Posted by RockyMRaven View Post
    Dan with all due respect, although Flacco was terrible, that has nothing to do with a really bad offensive pi call on Jones, an even worse defensive pi non-call when Torrey was trying to get under Joe's pass. Particularly in view of the fact that Joe's throws were off, to take away a perfectly thrown td and a well-thrown sideline pass by disgracefully bad calls was the difference between winning the game and being edged out of the win. The officiating was horrible.
    Read my post again. I was being sarcastic.

    I see the bad calls acounting for at least 7 points and maybe 3 -7 more when you take into accou nt the intentional grounding non call (Vick was insuide the tackle box), the PI non call on the pass to Smith and the pushing off call on Jones.

    In the end, Joe could have driven the team in range for a winning FG in the last minute if he hadn't been so inaccurate. They may have even handed off on 4th and 2 and caught everybody with their pants down with 52 secs and 2 TO's remaining. The refs did not absolutely lose us the game but they put us in position to. For the OP to say they had nothing to do with it just as ludicrous and that's why i was being sarcastic.
    If you break the rules you can't make the rules.
    - Remove Coach Tomlin from the NFL Competition committee.




  2. #107
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,959
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Quote Originally Posted by HoustonRaven View Post
    Doesn't matter.

    Once you're outside the pocket, you the chuck the ball forward all you want.
    The ball still has to make it to the line of scrimmage. It did not.




  3. #108
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Clayton,NC
    Posts
    7,742

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Oh... not to mention the TD they took away from Jacoby... yeah we got the worst of it.
    We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid. - Benjamin Franklin




  4. #109
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX Y'all
    Posts
    27,504
    Quote Originally Posted by PurpleApocalypse37 View Post
    The ball still has to make it to the line of scrimmage. It did not.
    Read the rule that was already linked.

    It doesn't matter because he was outside the pocket.
    WARNING: This post may contain material offensive to those who lack wit, humor, common sense and/or supporting factual or anecdotal evidence. All statements and assertions contained herein may be subject to literary devices not limited to: irony, metaphor, allusion and dripping sarcasm.




  5. #110

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Quote Originally Posted by PurpleApocalypse37 View Post
    The ball still has to make it to the line of scrimmage. It did not.
    The call on the field was a fumble, they reveiewd that. you can then go and throw grounding. The only calls that can be made under the hood are ones that are able to be challanged if made or not made by them self. Yes grounding can be reviewed but not when combined with a fumble review same with 12 men.

    Had the call on the field been incomplete pass the booth can then review it and see it was grounding




  6. #111
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,959
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Quote Originally Posted by HoustonRaven View Post
    Read the rule that was already linked.

    It doesn't matter because he was outside the pocket.
    NO. Even if you are out of the pocket, the pass STILL needs to make it to the line of scrimmage. Oh, and he was IN THE POCKET anyways.




  7. #112

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Quote Originally Posted by NCRAVEN View Post
    Oh... not to mention the TD they took away from Jacoby... yeah we got the worst of it.
    He did push off but Nnmandi was not looking for the ball. Should have been a no call at best. but he did push off.




  8. #113
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,959
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Quote Originally Posted by Benny8444 View Post
    The call on the field was a fumble, they reveiewd that. you can then go and throw grounding. The only calls that can be made under the hood are ones that are able to be challanged if made or not made by them self. Yes grounding can be reviewed but not when combined with a fumble review same with 12 men.

    Had the call on the field been incomplete pass the booth can then review it and see it was grounding
    Either way they screwed up the call Bigtime.




  9. #114
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX Y'all
    Posts
    27,504
    Quote Originally Posted by PurpleApocalypse37 View Post
    NO. Even if you are out of the pocket, the pass STILL needs to make it to the line of scrimmage. Oh, and he was IN THE POCKET anyways.
    No, you're not correct. Read the link again.
    WARNING: This post may contain material offensive to those who lack wit, humor, common sense and/or supporting factual or anecdotal evidence. All statements and assertions contained herein may be subject to literary devices not limited to: irony, metaphor, allusion and dripping sarcasm.




  10. #115

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Its only PI if the ball is in the air when the foul happened if its a bang bang play where it looks like it might have been the Umpire and head R will discuss it as they have a better angle and the QB but if it is close they will call Holding or Iligal Contact as they dont want a close play to dictate a game.

    Plus a lot of teams complained about the number of PI calls last week and how it totalled the number from last years week 1 and 2 combined. that may have something to do with it.




  11. #116

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Quote Originally Posted by PurpleApocalypse37 View Post
    Either way they screwed up the call Bigtime.
    As the rule stated he was outside the tackle box so it was not grounding, when they show the replay on NFL network or if any of us DVRd it we will see that




  12. #117

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Quote Originally Posted by Benny8444 View Post
    As the rule stated he was outside the tackle box so it was not grounding, when they show the replay on NFL network or if any of us DVRd it we will see that
    I don't know how much clearer the rule can be, it says no grounding outside the tackle box as long as the ball AT LEAST REACHES THE LOS.




  13. #118
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,959
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Quote Originally Posted by HoustonRaven View Post
    No, you're not correct. Read the link again.
    "Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, while out of the pocket and facing an imminent loss of yardage, throws a pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including if the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or end line)."

    "AT OR BEYOND the line of scrimmage." The ball did NOT it at or beyond the line of scrimmage.




  14. #119

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Quote Originally Posted by Raveninwoodlawn View Post
    Vick was outside of the pocket. There is no grounding there.
    It's the tackle box, and if you dvr'd the game go back and watch because he was not.

    Intentional grounding applies on that play and there was no receiver within 8 yards of the play




  15. #120

    Re: Officiating (Merged Threads)

    Vick was outside the tackles, the play was snapped on the right hash I believe. And the ball got "near" the line of scrimmage. It was close in both regards, but I don't think it gets called regardless of which refs are in there, and it certainly isn't a clear mistake to refrain from calling that.

    The "it was the scab refs" excuse is pretty weak in general. The only call that was very costly that was dubious was the offensive PI and I actually only saw one bad-angle (not from the side) replay of the play and couldn't tell how it looked. It was a weak "push" even if it was a push, but if both his hands went to the DB's back then it makes sense the ref would call it, even if it was sketchy (b/c it looks worse than it is). The rule has almost become automatic (b/c of Irvin's abuse in the old days) that two extended arms with both hands on the DB, regardless of the force you are applying or the advantage gained, is called OPI.

    There were several dubious calls on both teams in terms of roughing the passer, and a couple non-called unnecessary roughness penalties (Pollard on Celek sticks out the most). In general, the refs rank way low on the list of why we lost, and the insinuation that the old refs don't make as many or more huge calls or non-calls that affect games (even if they are different calls/non-calls) is nonsense, imo.




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Russell Street Report Website Design by D3Corp Ocean City Maryland