Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Grading the Draft

Yeah, I know we still have 2 more picks, but now's as good a time as ever to grade this years' draft.

I give this years' draft A-

We addressed our most desperate need, something I've been bitching about for MANY years - the Offensive Line.

The FO dedicated this year's draft to the O-line, and in turn we got some real studs. Grubbs will be an immediate starter at G, and Yanda might just start this year as well at G/T.

When Figurs was announced, I was scratching my head at first. The last thing this team needs is another WR, as strange as it seems to say that after many years of having NO ONE. However, after reading up on this guy, and seeing that they intend to use him on ST, I think this is a great pick. An explosive runner with 4.3 speed and a 2nd gear! This is huge. With BJ Sams injury prone, and possible NFL penalties coming down, Figurs might just give us that extra 10-15 yards in field position. In my opinion, that's just what this offense needs - a short field every time. That certainly would've helped back in Jan against the Dolts.

Picking up Troy Smith at the very end of the 5th round was a great value pick! I have my doubts about Smith's abilities to make it as an NFL QB, but at pick #174, it's hard to see any down side to this. Let him work with McNair for a year or two, and he might just pan out. Who knows?

The only downside to this draft is not drafting a very good CB. I think we need one to eventually take the place of Rolle/McAlister. But that's minor, since that need is still probably 3 years away.

In summation, Oz pulls another rabbit out of his hat! Us football fans here in Baltimore should be extremely happy for having Oz as our GM!! Another great draft!!!

Re: Grading the Draft

The only downside to this draft is not drafting a very good CB. I think we need one to eventually take the place of Rolle/McAlister. But that's minor, since that need is still probably 3 years away.